News Banner

January 22,2008 - Washington, DC, President George W. Bush today signed an executive order that established the President’s Advisory Council on Financial Literacy within the U.S. Department of Treasury. Laura Levine, executive director of the Jump$tart Coalition® for Personal Financial Literacy, has been appointed to the Council and was at the White House for the announcement today. 

Cabinet Secretaries Henry M. Paulson, Jr. (Treasury), Alphonso Jackson (Housing and Urban Development), and Anna Cabral (Treasurer of the U.S.) also participated in making the announcement.

Several Jump$tart Coalition national board members and partners were also appointed to the council, including: Ted Beck, president and CEO, National Endowment for Financial Education; Robert Duvall, president and CEO, National Council on Economic Education; Charles Schwab (appointed chairman of the council), Charles Schwab & Company, Inc.; John Bryant (appointed vice chairman of the council), chairman and founder, Operation HOPE, Inc.; David Mancl, Wisconsin State Jump$tart Coalition, Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions; and Ted Daniels, Society for Financial Education and Personal Development. Read full article.